Book Declutter

Hello! Long time and no post! Today’s entry is a list/review of the 32 books I am decluttering from my book collection. I am moving and do not need to take all of my books with me. These ones that I will be sharing with you are either ones I did not enjoy or ones that I know I am not going to re-read in the future. Enjoy!

I am getting rid of 6 Jodi Picoult novels. I love her work and was quite a big fan of it in high school, but I’m keeping the few that are my favourites and getting rid of the rest:

  • Salem Falls (rated 4/5 stars on my Goodreads)
  • House Rules (4/5 stars)
  • Vanishing Acts (4/5 stars)
  • Keeping Faith (3/5 stars)
  • Perfect Match (3/5 stars)
  • Sing You Home (4/5 stars)

I am getting rid of a second copy I have of Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones. It is one of my favourites but I do not need two copies. I rated it 5/5 on my Goodreads.

I am decluttering the 5 novels I own from The Lying Game series by Sara Shepherd. I do not own the sixth and last book but I did Google it to find out what happened and I don’t really need to read the last one anymore.

  • The Lying Game (3/5 stars)
  • Never Have I Ever (4/5 stars)
  • Two Truths and a Lie (4/5 stars)
  • Hide and Seek (3/5 stars)
  • Cross My Heart, Hope to Die (4/5 stars)

I am decluttering The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell. I only own the first book in the series and I have no plans on reading the rest of it. I rated it 3/5 on Goodreads.

I will be decluttering the Divergent series. While I did really enjoy the series, it’s not one of my absolute favourites and for that reason I don’t want to take it with me.

  • Divergent (5/5 stars)
  • Insurgent (4/5 stars)
  • Allegiant (4/5 stars)

I will be getting rid of the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. While a sad and powerful novel, it took me well over a year to actually read it because of the slow pace in the book. (3/5 stars)

I did not know it was going to be a book series, but I will still be decluttering Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan. A very intriguing book but I honestly don’t remember too much of what happened in it. (4/5 stars)

I will be decluttering The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp. I had only really bought it because Miles Teller played the main character in the movie and I wanted to read the book before I saw it. It’s a great coming-of-age story. (4/5 stars)

I am getting rid of two books by Jennifer McMahon. She is a great thriller/mystery novelist but her books are kind of creepy. I am a giant scaredy-cat and could not read her books at night. I would only want to keep them because the hard copies of the books are beautiful but I know I will not re-read them again.

  • The Winter People (4/5 stars)
  • The Night Sister (3/4 stars)

I will be decluttering Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight. It was a good mystery novel but not one I plan on re-reading. (3/5 stars)

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley is a great LGBTQ+ coming-of-age novel, but again not one I will re-read in the future. (4/5 stars)

When I picked up Wallbanger by Alice Clayton at Walmart, I did not know that she would continue it on as a series. I find it to be a great romance/chick flick-y novel that was fun to read as a stand-alone. (4/5 stars)

Tease by Amanda Maciel is a YA story about bullying and teenage girls and this is one plot that I will never tire of reading about. I own a few YA novels along the same lines and I prefer to keep those over this one. (3/5 stars)

The book Eeny Meeny by MJ Arlidge is a crime novel set in England. I read it after devouring two of Tami Hoag’s novels thinking it would be along the same lines, but no one can compare to Hoag. And that’s why this book received a 2/5 stars from me on Goodreads.

I don’t really remember much from Katherine Howe’s Conversion. I remember it was kind of about teenage girls who were maybe ancestors of witches which is maybe why I rated it 4/5 stars.

The Dinner by Herman Koch was kind of slow moving but did have a powerful twist at the end. 3/5 stars

The Girl on the Train has been hyped up so much and as an avid fan on thriller and crime novels, it does not compare to Gone Girl (like any critic tried to say). All of the characters had barely any redeeming qualities and “the twist” was figured out before the book was over. 2/5 stars.

Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster was a funny memoir to read about a former mean girl finding out how to live within her means. 3/5 stars

You Suck: a Love Story by Christopher Moore is a parody about vampires. It was given to me by a friend for my birthday and I have tried to read it but I just cannot. I do not enjoy reading about vampires even it is a parody of them. DNF

And the last book I’m getting rid of is a book about designing for the non-designers. It was a book I kept from college when I was in Media Studies but I no longer need it!

I hope you enjoyed this list! If you want an in-depth review on any of the books listed above I can try and do that for you! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

