How To: Beachy Waves

I love the idea of big, voluminous curls, but can never quite get it to work on my hair. And since I’ve cut it shorter in the past couple weeks, curls are kinda out of the question. BUT, the beachy wave look? That’s juuuuuuusssst perfect.

I have finally mastered the art to get perfect beachy waves! It has taken me a good amount of time to perfect just how many braids I need to do, but I have done it, and so I guess I can let you in on my little secret. P.S. you’ll get tons of compliments!

Looking awesome with no makeup and in my pjs!

Looking awesome with no makeup and in my pjs!

You’re going to want to start of with damp hair. It shouldn’t be dripping wet or soaked though, so air drying it for an hour is best. Next, I added a curling mousse to help hold the waves in place. I use the Tresemme Naturals Lightweight Mousse.

Grrrrrrl, I'm fancy huh

Grrrrrrl, I’m fancy huh

Next, I section off my hair to braid it. I like to move my hair over on the top of my head to where I want to have it parted the next day. The front two sections closest to my face (one on each side), I start with french braiding them. Eventually, I’ll run out of viable hair to put in the french braid, so then I just braid the rest of those pieces normally and tie them up with elastics.

Usually, I’ll just have two leftover sections of hair, but yesterday I had three (I think it’s because of all the layers I have now), so I just separate them and braid them normally, tying them up at the end. And then you’ll have a crazy hair-do like the one pictured above.

And then you do the best thing ever! You sleep on your hair until you wake up! Sleeping with braids takes some getting used to but it’s not horrible.

woah

woah

The next day, I normally wait until I’m finished getting ready (makeup, outfit, breakfast etc.) before I take the braids out. I like to think this helps with holding the wave. When you take the braids out, just weave them apart, and they’ll kind of look like what I have above.

043044

Finally, I usually shake out my head (the bottoms tend to just look straight because of the elastics) and add a little hairspray. I use the Herbal Essences Set Me Up #1. Now you’re good to go, and ready to take on the day!

I hope you liked this tutorial! I may do more in the future if I ever stop wearing my hair three ways, haha! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

