Products I’m Loving Lately: Beauty

Here is a short list of the current makeup products I have been loving and reaching for lately!

NYC’s High Definition Voluminizing Mascara – This is my new favourite drugstore mascara, and that’s saying a lot since I own about five currently. This mascara delivers on the volume! It lifts my lashes, and when I first tried it on I was amazed. The wand is a skinnier wand (which I prefer) so I’m able to maneuver the bristles to all of my lashes so they are all voluminized. Biggest plus for this product? I paid under $4 for it!

Aveeno’s Clear Complexion BB with SPF 30 – I bought this BB cream last year, and it was the first BB cream I tried out. I like that it’s a tinted BB cream because I only wear it during the summer when I’m tanned/burned so it evens out my skin tone. It’s a very light coverage, which I didn’t like too much last year, but since I’ve had less breakouts this year, I’ve enjoyed wearing it more. The smell is quite nice too; it’s a little perfume-y but not overpowering.

The Naked 3 Palette – This was a purchase I contemplated over for a while. I don’t own either of the first two palettes as I already own enough neutral/brown shades. It’s quite expensive here in Canada (about $60), but I had a leftover Sephora gift card and it was also my birthday so I decided to treat myself. At first, I didn’t like the palette. Some of the colours have some fallout or don’t have the best pigmentation, but after watching a few tutorials on YouTube, I found myself reaching for the palette almost everyday. It has a couple matte shadows that are nice to blend with, and the taupe-like shades towards the right are some of my favourites to use for a smokey eye.

Just a few of the shades. From L-R: Mauve, Garnet and Deep Purple.

Just a few of the shades. From L-R: Mauve, Garnet and Deep Purple.

The Lorac Pro Palette – I received this as a gift for Christmas and I was super excited to try it out because I had been wanting it for ages but it was always sold out on the Sephora website. The colour payoff with the eye shadows is amazing. I think they’re the best quality eye shadows I own. I’m actually sad that I’ve started to hit pan on a couple of the shades because I’m not even sure if I can find good enough dupes for them. If you’re looking for a new palette or are contemplating between this and any of the Naked palettes, I would choose this one.

 

  photo (14)

Wet N Wild’s Megalast Lip Colour – These are my new favourite finds. Above are just four of the six shades I own, and I’m definitely plan on getting more! I found these randomly searching the makeup aisles in Walmart a couple months ago for about $2.85 each – a steal! These are great quality and great colour payoff! They are described as a semi-matte finish and I find them very moisturizing on the lips. The line has a variety of shades to choose from. But the best thing is that they are perfect dupes for high-end lipsticks like MAC. I have received some compliments wearing these lipsticks, and most of them are shocked to hear that they are from the brand Wet N Wild!

Leave a Reply

